12 Months of Me(Mo)rydex

Here we are, in those last few days before the new year…and it’s safe to say, most of us are looking forward to saying goodbye to 2020! How many memories from this year are you looking back on with a smile?

I started January of 2020 with one Memorydex card. For those who aren’t familiar, Memorydex cards are a small, simple way to scrapbook. A popular line of products named Memorydex were created by Heidi Swapp. It’s a small index-size card that is notched at the bottom, like a rolodex – and kept in a box or file spinner. There’s not a lot of commitment to creating them. Perfect for the quick crafters out there!

In my collection this year, I made it my goal to create one a month and add a quote or visual from 2020. It’s been a nice way to look over the year and remember what I was trying to represent each month, similar to journaling memories or accomplishments. As you can see by my first card of the year, the goal was to “create joy.”

Some cards do bring me memories of joy, hope and pride. So glad to have been given many opportunities to exercise my creative muscles this year! I was able to build a portfolio, start blogging, get involved with design teams, and teach classes.

Some cards also remind me of very tough weeks – loneliness working from home, struggling with relationships, health or just the general wicked nature of social media at times. Yet, these also remind me that those are just days in our story, and that those too, shall pass.

The Christmas season is one of my favorite times, so I’ll end the year putting myself on the “Nice List.” I think I deserve it – and so do you, just making it this far! 🙂 I’m not sure what 2021 will bring…but I’m looking forward to documenting more of those Mo-ments along the way.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started