Luminaria Cards

Hi friends! I think we all need a source of light in our lives this week. So I’m reviving an old favorite and showing how to make luminaria cards! You can do these at home with virtually no crafting tools.

These cards display beautifully, either lit with a tea light in the middle, or just as they are. They will make great gifts for friends and family, or displayed on a mantel.

I started with 5×12 sheets of card stock in red and green. The white sheet is 11.5” x 4.5”. Make a fold line on the outer paper at the 6” mark. The inner piece needs to be folded in four even sections, so I folded it in half and then again because…math. Ha! Bend like a W. You get cleaner folds with a scoring tool, if you have one.

Now, I have a lot of dies (these are Sizzix and Spellbinders sets) but you don’t need all these supplies. You can find shapes using a tool like Cricut, or even trace pictures with a stencil and cut with a blade. The top image shows where I cut out windows and the bottom are pieces I add later.

I used vellum paper for the windows, cut to overlap the 2 window edges on each card. Using a clear tape adhesive works well for these. Adhere them to the backside of the window. Then attach the 2 end panels of the inner paper to the outer sheet, making sure it folds out to form a box.

Extra cuts make the silhouettes, and it’s good to use a clear adhesive when you attach them to the vellum. I also used pop dots for dimension. Adding a message looks beautiful too!

Now for the front…these are simple strips of white, cut to fit to the edges and I turned the negative rectangles from the windows into tags with a tag punch. The sayings and bows are from a company called Queen and Co. along with a couple stamped words. You could personalize these with your own handwriting or store bought tags and bows too!

I hope this lightens up your week like it did mine. I’d love to hear from you! Will you give it a try and what will you make? Please leave a comment below! And come see Mo’ Crafty projects on my IG page: @alittlemocrafty.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started